It’s been a while since I’ve been able to detect.  I just returned from a week-long teaching mission in the Andes Mountains of Peru.  Then, when I got home, I was greeted by flooding rains and tornadoes.  It might be a while before the ground thaws enough to dig.

But I did manage to find a little piece of peruvian silver.  :)

Right after I cleared security for a domestic flight in Peru, as I was slipping my shoes back on, I saw something shiny on the floor.  I bent over, made a beeping sound (aka … my verbal metal detector)  quickly and picked up a small charm.  I looked around, but there were no ladies in sight.  Since there was no way to know who dropped it, and the workers would most definitely pocket it if I turned it in, I elected to stick  it in my pocket.  Finders keepers.  Once I got to my gate, I got it out and was delighted to see the numbers “950” (a standard 95% mixture Peruvian sterling) stamped in it.  It looks like a monkey or bear, I can’t tell.

Of course, I immediately sent out a Tweet, proclaiming my ability to find treasure anywhere.  lol

Since it is silver, and even though it was a sight find, I am counting it toward my goal of 52 silver/gold finds for 2011.

Here’s a picture … enjoy.  And keep your eyes open, there’s treasure all around!

