I never imagined that I would find any large coppers in my area. Western Kentucky is relatively “young” compared to the east coast locations where the big ones are more commonly found.However, the Good Lord chose to bless me with three very surprising pieces this year.

 

I found the first one on March 23 … and it is the most unusual one of all … an 1854 One Penny token from the Bank of Upper Canada. It is HUGE! And I have absolutely no idea how it arrived in Cadiz, Kentucky.

I found the other two last Thursday and posted on the finds last week. But the coins were a little on the rough side. One was an 1851 and the other … the truly sweet find and my oldest coin find by far … is an 1801 Draped Bust. I spent the greater part of today carefully removing the crud from these coins in a warm peroxide bath. The process is amazingly simply and (obviously … if you looked at the pics from my other post) does wonders for the coins.

And I am very pleased with the results.

Here are the obverse views:

And here are the reverse views:

I also took some close-ups, and am very pleased with the outcomes.

Here is the 1801 Draped Bust:

Here is the 1851 Coronet:

I’m not sure about the grade of each. I suppose the 1801 would qualify as a mere AG and the 1851 is at least a VF. It must have been close to brand new when it was dropped. But I would love your input.

Sorry for the “double-wide” pictures, but I wanted you to get the full effect.

Enjoy the pictures, and thanks for looking!

__________________
Garrett GTP 1350 / Oldest Coin – 1801 Draped Bust Large Cent / Silver Coins – 37 / Coin Count – 1,612 / Clad Total – $115.36
