I finally (and just barely) broke my silver fast today.

It was something of a disappointing hunt, really. I awakened this morning with high expectations. I had plans to hunt a late 1800’s home on historic Main Street. But, alas, it seemed that almost every signal was an inch-deep Lincoln from the 1970’s. After about an hour it became very clear that this property had been hunted.

I did manage to squeak out five more wheats (giving me a total of 16 in my second year of hunting … Nov. 20 was my metal detecting “birthday”). They include a beautiful 1910 (found on top of the ground near the sidewalk! – which was just put down about two years ago), and really nice 1917-D, a 1944-D, a 1945-D, and a 1947-D. I found the last three in a very small area near the rear of the driveway … the same small area where I found the 1945 Merc.

Here is a close-up of the coins:

I did have a couple of other interesting finds. One was a very beautiful(and large) ladies’ pin. It has a flower and leaf motif. I am not sure what it is made of, but the metal is relatively soft. It was bent and broken in the center, and is barely hanging on my a thread of metal. There are no marks on it. I found it very close to the new sidewalk, very close to the surface … which leads me to believe that it was originally located under the old sidewalk. It was probably dug and dislodged during the installation of the new concrete.

I also found a blob of oxidized lead on the empty lot where I hunted earlier in the week and found seven old wheats. (Changed locations mid-afternoon.) It was located in a patch of ground where a walkway used to be. Interestingly, it is about 150 yards (as the crow flies) from the spot where I found a Civil War era Colt 45 dropped slug back in the spring (on the opposite side of Main Street).

Here is an overall picture for your enjoyment, absent the $1.75 in clad. Any knowledge of the pin would be most welcome.

__________________
Garrett GTP 1350 / Oldest Coin – 1801 Draped Bust Large Cent / Silver Coins – 42 / Coin Count – 1,730 / Clad Total – $124.68
