Greetings, fellow detectorists! It’s been several months since my last post. We have had a long, hard winter in Kentucky (that whole global warming thing isn’t panning out for us down here). So I spent the better part of the winter making new relationships, researching sites, and getting permission to hunt. I have several new (but old!) locations lined up for the spring.

I’ve been able to get out swinging a couple of times in the past few days. Went out for a while on Saturday to a site where I found some silver last year and found a little clad – nothing to write you guys about. But I hit a new site yesterday. It is an old farmhouse that sits right in the banks of a large creek. The house was built in 1913, but the area has been settled since the early 1800’s. The owner told me more about the property yesterday. There is an old graveyard on the back side of his plot, near the creek. One of the men buried there was a veteran of the War of 1812, and a local political leader. He also pointed out a spot down by the creek where a really old house once stood. Lots of buttercups down there. I’m planning to hit that tomorrow afternoon. Anyhow, I worked most of the front yard of the old house. Found 26 cents in 1960’s clad. Then I finally got a nice, 3-inch deep quarter signal that jumped a bit. So I dug and found this shiny dude smiling at me …

It’s a well-used and rather smooth 1903 Barber quarter. The V-nickel (also a 1903!!) was in the same hole … ergo the bouncy signal. I dug the 1937 wheatie about thirty feet away. Needless to say, I did a micro-minnie version of the happy dance. It got my audience of five small dogs (great helpers, all) to barking at me. It was good to find old silver so soon after the long winter. You can bet I’ll be hitting that location for several more days over the coming week.

__________________
Garrett GTP 1350 / Oldest Coin – 1801 Draped Bust Large Cent / Silver Coins – 42 / Coin Count – 1,730 / Clad Total – $124.68

