So … I went back to hit the yard of an old 1920-era home that I hunted about a year and a half ago. I seem to recall that I had declared the yard “hunted out.” 

Hmmmm …

Anyways, I was sort of out of new places to hunt for the moment and itching to dig, so I decided to give the yard another go. After all, the first time I hunted it was right after I got my new Garrett GTP 1350. Maybe I missed something.

I should say so.

After digging a few pennies, and a couple of wheat cents from the 1940’s, I hit upon another strong penny signal at 3 inches. I dug, and to my surprise, this strangely sized, oxidized copper-encrusted disc popped out of the ground. I was a bit perplexed. The size was just weird. It looked like a nickel, but it was a little bigger. And it had the color of an old copper.

I popped it in my apron and kept digging until dark. When I got home I ran it under some warm water and my heart jumped into my throat when I saw “2 Cents” on one side and a shield on the other. It was a bronze 2-cent piece!!! They were only minted from 1864 until 1873. The problem was, would I ever be able to get a date off of it?

After about an hour of careful warm peroxide bathing and some q-tip action, I managed to see the date. 1864. First year of issue. Completely cool!

It’s in bad shape, but it’s all mine! I just never thought I would find one. Now, if I could just find a 3-cent piece, a half dime, and a silver 20-cent piece, my life will be complete.

Here are the pics …

And here’s the rest of my take in two afternoons of hunting. It includes a total of 6 wheaties, the oldest being a 1929 (most from the mid-40’s), a 1946 silver Rosie (love my sliver!!!), several copper memorial Lincolns, keys, and what-zits. The pendant is pretty cool … from New Orleans. And I continued to dig many of those cursed (hate them with a passion!) slate shingle hangers. They’re made of copper, and ring just like a dime. Every one of them is 3 inches deep in the ground … so you know I HAVE to dig them. You just can’t let a 3-inch dime signal go “undug.”

All in all a great four hours of hunting. Without a doubt, the 2-cent piece is completely out of character for the house. It is nowhere near that old. Just goes to show that you can find anything … anywhere. So, if it sounds good, dig!

I’ve still got some ground to cover on my “do-over.” Headed back out tomorrow. Supposed to be a beautiful Sunday afternoon here in Kentucky. (Since I’m a pastor, Sunday morning hunts are a bit out of the question).

Thanks for looking!

__________________
Garrett GTP 1350 / Oldest Coin – 1801 Draped Bust Large Cent / Silver Coins – 48 / Coin Count – 1,933 / Clad Total – $139.23
