My daughter, Katie (Age 17), has just recently become interested in detecting. Ever since we successfully located her heirloom ring, she has wanted to detect with me. I picked her up a Garrett Ace 250 that a friend of mine had for $150 (extra coil & accessories included). On her first time out she dug a wheat penny and some older clad. I was pretty impressed.

But today takes the cake …

She joined me after finishing her last mid-term exam this afternoon for a 2-hour hunt on an old lot here in town. There was a late 1800’s house on the site which burned in the 1970’s … at which time the owners decide to thoroughly bulldoze the property. I’ve found one wheat (1918) and lots of junk and clad, but no silver.

Anyhow … this afternoon we were working the very back of the lot. I located the spot where the old carriage house stood on a 1903 Sanborn map. Katie got an iffy signal between two trees that read as a quarter, but jumpy. She dug and was disappointed to find a large rusty nail. But as she prepared to push her dirt back in her hole she saw something shiny. She yelled, “I found a coin … it’s a quarter, I think. But I don’t know what kind!”

I ran over to see what all of the hubub was about, and this is what I saw:

Unbelievably, on her second hunt, she dug a VERY worn, thin, strangely deteriorated 1902 BARBER QUARTER! Here are some close-ups:

So, Katie is already on the “silver board.” Now I just need to get her on the forum.

Of course, I pretended to be angry and I ragged her pretty hard. But I was an awful proud papa! I think she’s hooked. Definitely.

__________________
Garrett GTP 1350 & PP / Oldest Coin – 1801 Draped Bust Large Cent / Silver Coins – 48 / Coin Count – 1,994 / Clad Total – $143.12
