Well, I just had to get out today. It was cloudy and cold, but the ground was thawed, so I donned my insulated hunting coveralls and hit the road.

The first place I tried was an old home site on a friend’s property. Completely struck out there … only dug four pennies from the 60’s. So I got back in the truck and headed to an old spot I haven’t visited in a while.

About a year ago I hunted this old home site and was blown away when I found two large coppers, an 1801 and an 1852. Those are the ONLY two coins that I found on the site. Obviously, it is very old. I pounded it pretty hard at that time and decided to let it lay for a year before I tried again.

So, today, I returned with my new MXT, determined to dig every signal … hoping beyond hope that I might pull a 3-cent piece or a small gold coin from that ground. Honestly, I was getting pretty disgusted … after an hour all I had to show for digging 25 targets was a bag of trash.

Then … near the road, close to what was once an old walkway, I got a solid signal that jumped between 77-78 VDI. The MXT showed a depth of three inches, but I just about flipped out when, after knocking off the first inch of soil, I saw silver on my digging cloth.

Here’s a quick video … it’s our first on our new Youtube page, so don’t laugh.

And here are some close-ups of this incredible 1892-O:

It was my first silver find of 2011, my first New Orleans minted coin ever, and my 50th silver coin since I started detecting. Pretty cool that it was the first year of issue for the Barber, and a decently low mintage. It grades out around “Fine,” since the “Liberty” is readable on the headband.

Thanks for looking!

__________________
Garrett GTP 1350 & PP, Whites MXT / Oldest Coin – 1801 Draped Bust Large Cent / Silver Coins – 50 / Coin Count – 2,031 / Clad Total – $144.37
