I had to run a couple of errands the other day, and was scheduled to pick up my wife after school. I had about an hour to kill, so I went to one of the old parks in the town where she works, hoping to dig some old silver.

I started getting dime VDI’s at 3 to 4 inches, but I was completely devastated as I dug one deep clad dime after another. Go figure …

But then I got another solid 79 VDI at four inches, and this time I pulled this beauty …

And here’s a close-up on the stamp:

The ring simply looks old to me. I don’t know how to describe the style, but it doesn’t seem to match what is produced and sold today … it is too ornate and heavy, with too much attention to artistic detail.

I’ve done a little research on the ISC mark … the best I can figure out it was the International Silver Corporation. I found one note online that it went out of business in the 1950’s. If you have any other info, I would love to hear it.

It was pretty much my only decent find. I dug a pouch full of clad and a couple of Wheaties (one of them holed with a loop through it … a first for me with a Wheat Penny).

My wife loves the ring … and it looks great on her!
Scored me a few points … oh, yeah!

Thanks for looking.

