What can I say?  It’s just been a rough, busy year.  I tend to take the summers off, anyway (too hot, too dry, too many mosquitoes) and hunt in fall and winter months.  But I have sincerely been on a seven-month detecting fast.

I finally broke the fast yesterday with a brief 1.5 hour hunt at an old park in a nearby town.  I’ve hunted the park several times.  There is a mass of metal trash and Zincolns at shallow depths.  It’s pretty tough ground to hunt.

I decided this time that I was going to shoot for deeper “iffy” signals.  I wanted no less than five inches of depth with a solid VDI signature.  I wasn’t looking for more traditional coin signals.

My different approach paid off.

About ten minutes into the hunt I got my first solid hit at five inches.  And out popped this little jewel …

It is a old, monogrammed child’s hair clip, roughly 1.25 inches in length.  And, of course, it is sterling silver!  Here’s a shot of the back.

About a half-hour later I got another five-inch deep signal.  But this one was kind of bouncy.  But since it seemed to be absent any iron, I went for the dig.  And this one really paid off.  I was thrilled to find a sterling silver Playboy Bunny ankle bracelet with a nice, heavy sterling chain.

Here’s a shot of the sterling mark on the clasp loop.

So … I’m back in the game … and back in the silver!  I hope to be posting a LOT more finds in the weeks to come!

