I returned today to the old church yard that is about to be paved over to make a parking lot for a new business.  We had a few brief showers early this morning, but I headed out as soon as the rain stopped.

I dug four silver coins from the yard last year, as well as a sterling ankle bracelet.  Yesterday I dug three small balls (hollow spheres) that had become separated from the bracelet that I found last year, as well as a silver Rosie.  So I was hoping that my new E-Trac would help me find some more.

I was NOT disappointed.  This machine is a silver-sniffing beast.  It smelled out two more Rosies, one a 1950-D and the other a 1959-D.

12.15.12 Roosevelt Dimes

Both were around six inches deep.  The first was on edge.  The second was about six inches from a rather large and noisy piece of ground trash.  It wouldn’t pinpoint because of the trash.  But I kept getting a hit with a high tone, so I dug under the high tone and there it was!  My MXT couldn’t lock on to that signal, but the E-Trac separated it out just fine.  I’m way impressed.

So … two more silvers rescued from the asphalt that is soon to come.  I’m going to try to finish hitting the spot early next week.  I’m still hoping for a couple more strays.

Thanks for looking!  HH!!

